Happy Cities

Jeff Speck, who wrote “Walkable City” (which I highly recommend) writes in this Metropolis Magazine article that walkable cities are not necessarily the happiest cities.

“To my disappointment, but not to my complete surprise, the happy city isn’t exactly the walkable city. Or, more accurately, the happy city is eminently walkable, bikeable, and transit-served, but it is decidedly not some of the cities that I lavish praise upon in my book, such as New York and Hong Kong. These cities are too dense, too lacking in natural beauty, and too encumbered by class distinctions to be optimally happifying.”

It appears that people who live in smaller cities and towns are happier.

I could have told him that.

Jan

Leave a Reply

