True confession

I am a walker. I admit it. As much as I would like to be a bicyclist, I’m not.

Now that might change. There’s a chance. I may need to go through some training to feel comfortable biking the city streets. But there’s one thing that won’t change.

I am more interested in the journey than the destination. Always have been, always will be. When I was young and my family would travel from New York to see other family members in Pennsylvania, I always wanted to go a different route each time so I could see something different. When my husband and I travel to Key West which is one of our favorite cities because it is so walking and bicycle friendly, I prefer to walk. My husband prefers to bike. He wants to get to his destination faster. I want to see what’s along the way. And you can’t really do that when you bike when you have to watch out for cars and car doors opening. And of course you are just going that much faster.

I am blessed that I live right in downtown Cortland and walking is much easier than bicycling. If I lived farther out then bicycling would be a better option.

But I love to walk. There’s so much to see. A few weeks ago I was walking on the bridge over the Tioughnioga River near Riverside Plaza. It’s not the most pleasant area to walk due to the traffic. But as I was walking over the bridge I looked down and spotted 2 men fishing near the bridge casting their lines into the water. I stopped for a few seconds and then walked on. As I moved toward the center of the bridge I looked up the river and there were 5 other fishermen spaced along the river casting their lines into the river. The sun was starting to set in the west and the light through the trees illuminating the fishermen and their lines was breathtaking.

If only I had had my camera!

But if you were driving by, or even bicycling, you would not have seen that sight. Or the architectural details on the houses. Or the glimpses of the backyard gardens. And if you were driving you would not smell the glorious lilac bushes.

It’s the little stuff, you know stop and smell the roses stuff, that can make a big difference in your day.

Jan

Leave a Reply

