Mix it up

I live about a mile and a half from my workplace. It would take me about 30 minutes to walk, much less if I wanted to bike. But finding a safe bike route to my workplace is quite a challenge.

I could walk now but I don’t handle the cold very well so I will wait until it’s warmer to walk the entire distance.

But yesterday, while I was home for lunch, I got a bright idea. It was fairly nice outside. My husband was returning to his workplace so I asked if he could give me a ride and then I would walk to my work from his work.

So I did. I left my car at home, carpooled to his work and walked 20 minutes to my workplace.

But then the weather turned nasty. My original plan was to walk back to his work at 5 pm and get a ride home. But it was so nasty that I decided to ride the bus. So I picked up the Cortland Transit bus right across the street from my office, rode it 8 minutes to the County Office Building and then walked the short distance to my husband’s workplace and got a ride home.

I got some exercise without going to the gym and was able to leave my car at home.

So it doesn’t have to be an all or nothing affair. Some people don’t live within walking or biking distance from work. But maybe you live close enough to a bus route. Maybe you will have to walk a short distance to pick up the bus. Maybe you could bike part of the way and hop the bus for the rest of the trip (Cortland Transit buses all have bike racks in the front of the bus). Maybe you can carpool part of the way and walk the rest.

Can you work out a plan where you can leave your car home at least a few days out of the week? I bet you can.

Jan

Leave a Reply

